

Tri Cities Female Ice Hockey Association 34A-2755 Lougheed Hwy, Suite 609 Port Coquitlam, B.C. V3B 5Y9

# 2024 TCFIHA AGM MINUTES

Date: Thursday, May 16<sup>th</sup>, 2024 Time: 7:00 p.m.

Place: Zoom

\*\*Call to order and establishment of a quorum. - Call to order at 7:05 pm

(Members in good standing present, and/or by proxy, representing not less than 10% of the aggregate numbers of members, but shall never be less than 20 persons.)

- 78 attendees via zoom representing 104 athletes
- Motion to adopt the agenda. 1st Sean McCarron 2nd Darren Straumford
  - \*\*\* Refer to attached powerpoint for much of the details presented at this AGM\*\*\*
- Introduction of the current Board of Directors.
  - completed
- MAD Adoption of the 2023 AGM minutes.
  - No concerns 98% approved 2 % abstain
- Business arising from previous minutes.
  - none

#### **Awards**

- Coach of the year awarded to Clay Allmin U11 C4
- Manager of the year awarded to Heather Smith U15 C3
- Volunteer of the Year awarded to Karen Gray U15 A1
- Player Volunteer of the Year awarded to Nakayla Beza U15 A1
- President's Award awarded to our Financial Team (Tracy Robinson and Dale Debeeld)
- Referee Awards
  - Referee of the Year awarded to Ksenia Decker
  - Most improved Referee awarded to Kayla Stewart
  - Rookie of the Year awarded to Taisia Maksimenko
- Graduating U18 players recognized 7 graduating U18 Predator athletes
- U18 Scholarship winners recognized our 3 scholarship winners
  - Jaeda Cameron \$500 Port Moody Old Timers Association Scholarship Award
  - o Natasha Mayzel \$1000 Agnes Pau Female Empowerment Award
  - Jenna Humeny \$1000 Summer Spaidal Memorial Scholarship Award

### TW Recap of season

- See powerpoint no concerns
- Moving Forward brought some discussions
  - Questions/Conversations about the paid positions 2 will carry over from last year (register

- and ice allocator) while the other 2 will be posted by the new board ASAP
- Questions/Conversations about new ice it does not look like we will have any increase on new ice for next year, the only options we have to increase would be to take on weekday ice that begins prior to 4:00 pm or prior to 6:00 am.
- When goalie registration increase (previous rate \$150, increase was to be 50% player rate) was presented there was much chat. Heather Fox presented the research and conversations the board had completed before coming to this.
- Motion (Jeff Pederson and Angela Jimenez) 2nd (Natasha Breland)
  - "Do you approve of the new increase for goalie registration"
  - 42 votes "for", 34 votes "against", 4 votes "abstained"
- A 2nd motion was made (Jeff Pederson) and 2nd (Angela Jimenez)
  - "It is being proposed that the increased goalie fees go directly to goalie development, recruitment and equipment. And that the account be kept separate in reporting to see that this takes place"
  - 32 votes "Not approved", 29 votes "approved", 5 votes "abstained"

#### Treasurer's Report

- Review of financial statements from 2023/2024 presented by Dale and Tracy
- Motion to Approve Budget for 2024/2025 presented by Dale and Tracy
  - Numerous questions/comments about the goalie fees being increase we just voted on it and all answers were presented
  - Questions/comments about covering an overdue cost of a team all attempts were made to be recouped to the boards best abilities, bill needed to be paid
  - Questions on new jersey budgets this will be discussed by the new board at the first meeting
  - Question on U18 rep cost being less they receive less total ice time than other rep teams
  - Motion to approve new budget 1st (Sean McCarron) 2nd (Darren Straumford)
    - Approve 81%, Do not approve 5%, abstain 14%

#### Mew Business

Call for new business. - no new business presented

## **\*\*\*Election of Board of Directors**

- Terms are completed for the **President**, **2**<sup>nd</sup> **VP**, **and Secretary**.
- New elections for President (2-tear term), 2<sup>nd</sup> VP (2-year term), Secretary (2-year term), Director/Equipment Manager (1-year term), Director/Goalie Coordinator (1-year term), and Directors-at-Large/Division Coordinators (1-year term) max 7.
- Elections required for positions vacated early: 3<sup>rd</sup> VP/Risk Manager (1-year of term remaining), Treasurer (1-year of term remaining).
- Board of Director positions continuing for 1 more year are: 1<sup>st</sup> VP Amanda Levesque
   Non-Voting Volunteer Position: RIC (Darren Ferris)
  - **President -** Peter Aragon, nominated and accepted unopposed
  - 2nd VP/Coach Coordinator Darren Straumford, nominated and accepted unopposed
  - 3rd VP/Risk Manager Tracy Robinson and Natasha Breland both nominated and accepted, then Tracy withdrew her acceptance. Natasha Breland moves on unopposed
  - Secretary Sean McCarron nominated and accepted unopposed
  - Director/Equipment Manager Peter Grimm, nominated and accepted unopposed
  - Director/Goalie Coordinator Kym Bain and Zach Guy both nominated and accepted.

Went to member vote 39 voted for Zach, 27 voted for Kym 6 abstained.

- Treasurer there were no nominations, new board will work to fill position ASAP
- **Directors-at-Large/Division Coordinators (max 7 positions) -** only Annie Lam was nominated and accepted. New board will work to fill positions ASAP
- \*\*\*Drawing of door prize (one prize of free registration for next season) Winner Ray Arsenault!
- Motion to adjourn. 1st (Sean McCarron) 2nd (Natasha Breland) end 9:56 pm