



Tri Cities Female Ice Hockey Association 34-A 2755 Lougheed Hwy, Suite 609 Port Coquitlam, B.C. V3B 5Y9

2018-2019 TCFIHA AGM MINUTES

Date: Wednesday, April 24, 2019 **Place:** Coguitlam City Hall

Time: 7:00 pm

Call to order: The AGM was called to order at 7:00 pm, with 38 members represented in person and five proxy votes received. This exceeded a minimum quorum of 20 members.

Motion to adopt the agenda: made by Larissa Lapierre and seconded by Naomi Khan. All in favour, none opposed. Motion carried.

Introduction of current Executive committee members: President; Larissa Lapierre, 1st VP; Darren Ferris, 2nd VP; Kevin Mills, 3rd VP; Joe Mikita, Treasurer; Naomi Khan, Secretary; Sandra Magee, Registrar; Trudi Hamel, Directors; Grant Wilson, Danny Lidder, Agnes Pau, Cheryl Cruickshank, Andrew Johnston, Dave Whitworth.

Motion to adopt previous AGM minutes: made by Trudi Hamel and seconded by Naomi Khan. All in favour, none opposed. Motion carried. There was no new business arising from the previous minutes.

Annual awards presented by Larissa:

Coach of the Year- Dave Wilkie

Manager of the Year - David Woollven

Volunteer of the Year - Patti Pauquette

Recognition of other Nominees: Darren Straumford, Kevin Mills, Amanda Levesque, Agnes Pau, Darren Lorenz, Samantha Soares, Angela Raymond, Tammy Diesner, Gloria Jimenez, Lisa Sorace

Graduating Midget Awards (given to recognize the Midget players just completing their final year): Kaetha Broermann, Nicole Campbell, Isabel Cu, Christina Johanson, Stephanie Kamerling, Jordyn Spencer, Kyra Thorington, Emily West, Morgan Yard

Treasurer's Report: The balance sheet as of April 23th, 2019 and the Proposed Budget for next season were presented. Our fiscal year end is May 31st. Please see attached budget sheet.

Naomi highlighted some items on this season's budget:

Line 3 – approximately \$18,000 profit brought in from house tournament; this emphasizes the importance of this fundraiser for our entire association

Line 7 - Reserve Draw Down much less than anticipated due to higher fundraising and some savings on ice costs

Line 19 – Coaches Development Expense a bit higher than anticipated; hard to predict as it depends on how many new volunteers step up, so its overall a positive and reflects our commitment to offering the best development to players

Lines 22 & 23 - ice expenses slightly lower this year as third rink at Poirier allows us access to more subsidized ice

2019 – 2020 Budget: less than \$2000 difference proposed overall. Line 7 Reserve Draw Down of \$26,800 proposed to be taken out of reserve

No questions were asked regarding the 2019 – 2020 budget. David Woolven motioned to approve the budget and Joe Mikita seconded, all in favour, none opposed. Motion was carried, and budget was approved for 2019-2020 fiscal period.

Association overview/recap provided by Larissa:

- 230 females this year on 18 teams
 - o Banners:
 - Atom C3 league banner
 - Juvenile league banner
 - Atom C2 playoff banner
 - Midget A Presidents series banner
 - Extra goalie development a success, teams hoping to continue this next season
- Team Officials: continue to see alum looking to get involved in coaching
- On-ice Officials: record number of new female officials trained this year

- o All Peewee and below games were officiated with Preds female referees
- Successfully hosted Bantam Championships
- Bantam Zone:
 - Higher level program
 - PČAHA run
 - BC Hockey is initiating a restructure of the operational model for female hockey in BC and the Yukon due to:
 - Lack of local teams to play, drop off in numbers at Peewee/Bantam, stigma against female hockey, losing players to academies, lack of ice time compared to male teams, skill gap between players, lack of competitive playing options, lack of senior women teams, issue with coed/female dressing rooms

Tournament Recap; Profit of approximately \$18,000. We hosted over 850 players, and we received great feedback from teams. A huge thank you to the tournament committee!

NEW BUSINESS:

0

Balancing Vs Tiering:

- Marty Rosner presented reasons why he believes we should balance our house teams
 - Evidence from the challenges experienced this year and in previous years with the C2 level teams including low player numbers, seasons with a lot of touch losses, diminishing availability of players as the girls get older and have other commitments, poor ice times this year
- Vancouver was offered as a model of an association where this has been done
- Other members voiced support for balancing: happier players, less division among teams at the same level (more camaraderie), boys do it
- Also support to continue tiering: lacrosse teams struggling with balanced teams, many players will lack the competitive
 play they believe they need to develop, we would be playing against associations that have tiered teams, can't compare
 with boys as our numbers are much lower

Election of Officers: Terms are completed for the 1st Vice President (Darren Ferris), 3rd Vice President (Joe Mikita), Treasurer (Naomi Khan), Registrar (Trudi Hamel), Secretary (Sandra Magee – 1 year interim), and Directors Grant Wilson, Danny Lidder, Agnes Pau, Cheryl Cruickshank, Andrew Johnston, Dave Whitworth.

Executive positions continuing for one more year are: President (Larissa Lapierre), 2nd Vice President (Kevin Mills)

1st Vice President (2yr term) – Larissa Lapierre nominated **Darren Ferris**, Darren accepted, David Woollven seconded, acclaimed

3rd Vice President (2yr term) – Larissa Lapierre nominated **Joe Mikita**, Joe accepted, seconded by Patti Pauquette, acclaimed

Treasurer (2yr term) – Larissa Lapierre nominated **Naomi Khan**, Naomi accepted, seconded by Heather Murphy, acclaimed

Registrar (2yr term) – Larissa Lapierre nominated **Trudi Hamel**, Trudi accepted, seconded by Stephanie Song, acclaimed

Secretary (2yr term) - No nominations, will be seeking volunteers for this position

Directors (1yr term):

Agnes Pau nominated by Naomi Khan, Agnes accepted, seconded by Adel Gamar, acclaimed

Free Registration Raffle: Won by Joe Mikita

Motion to Adjourn: Patti Pauquette, seconded by Trudi Hamel, meeting adjourned 8:24 pm.