

2015-2016 TCFIHA AGM Meeting Minutes

Date: Wednesday, April 27, 2016 7:00 pm

Place: Coquitlam City Hall

Call to order: The AGM was called to order at 7:12 pm., with 27 members represented in person, there were 10 proxy ballots received. This exceeded a minimum quorum of 20 members. Note; final attendance was 25 members.

Motion to adopt the agenda: made by David Woollven and seconded by Darren Ferris. Motion was carried.

Motion to adopt the previous AGM minutes: made by Tom Webster and seconded by Dave Van Straten. Motion carried. There was no new business arising from the previous minutes.

Larrissa Lapierre provided season recap touching upon the success of the Try-It Hockey Event, Giants Night, Cross Ice Pilot, and Peewee A1 for qualifying for provincials. Additionally, she acknowledged the success of the tournament and thanks Lori Rosner for providing leadership.

Introduction of Executive committee members: President; Larissa Lapierre, 1st VP; Dave Van Straten, 2nd VP; Janet Kennedy, 3rd VP; Joe Mikita, Treasurer; Sandra Magee, Secretary; Vacant, Registrar; Jeanne Buglioni. Directors; John Buglioni, Jim Mitchell (absent), Kevin Mills (absent), Colleen Hall (absent).

Annual awards;

Larissa presented the referee awards

Rookie referee – Isabel Attar

Most improved referee – Alexandra Storms

Ref of the year – Julie Spooner

Larissa presented the TCFIHA Volunteer of the Year Award to Darren Ferris and a Special Volunteer Award to Robyn Doig.

Larisssa presented the Coach of the Year Award to Marcus Frew.

Larissa presented the Manager of the Year Award to Heather Fox.

Larissa presented the Graduating Midget Awards (an award to recognize the Midget player just completing their final year). Awards were given out to 4 graduating Midgets in attendance.

Treasurer's Report: Sandra presented the Profit & Loss Overview, the Balance Sheet as of April 14, 2015 and the Proposed Budget for next season. She reminded all that these were only the numbers to April 25nd and that our fiscal year end is May 31st. She did not expect any significant changes to these numbers before May 31st.

In regards to Profit and Loss, Sandra explained that in July 2015 we were awarded a \$43,000 gaming grant with the stipulation that the money be solely used on ice expenditures. In August 2015, the current executive meet and passed a revised budget and agreed on the best use of the budget surplus, primary the focus of spending would be on much needed jersey replacement and funding player/goalie skill development for the season. Sandra reviewed the new 2016-2017 budget. Motion to adopt it was made by Mary Costa and seconded by Lori Rosner. Motion carried.

1st **VP Report:** Dave Van Straten discussed the changes to evaluation process for the upcoming season. Additionally, he reviewed the player/goalie skill development plan for next season.

Tournament Update: Lori Rosner provided an update on the tournament held in early March. We had record attendance and great feedback from travel and local teams.

Lori thanked to all the volunteers that helped and for all their support. All the parents pitched in and made the tournaments run smoothly. Lori made a call out for help for this tournament volunteers and has several committee positions available. Please contact her by email if you can help.

Volunteer opportunities:

President (2 year term) – Lori Rosner nominated Larissa Lapierre, Larissa accepted, Mary Costa seconded, acclaimed.

2nd Vice President (2 year term) – David Woollven nominated **Janet Kennedy**, Janet accepted, Lori Rosner seconded, acclaimed.

Secretary - Vacant

Directors (1 year term):

Grant Wilson nominated by Dave Van Straten, Grant accepted, acclaimed.

Kevin Mills nominated by Larissa Lapierre, Kevin accepted, acclaimed.

David Woollven nominated by Larissa Lapierre, David accepted, acclaimed.

John Buglioni nominated by Janine Buglioni, John accepted, acclaimed.

Colleen Hall nominated by Larissa Lapierre, Colleen accepted via email, acclaimed.

AGM Award: \$200 award goes to Marcus Frew

Reminder: Larissa reminded everyone that May 1st deadline for House coaching applications are due.

Motion to ajourn: Dave Van Straten, seconded by David Woollven, meeting adjourned, 7:55 pm